Private: Screenwriting in Rome
/ Schedule

May 26 - June 6
3 undergraduate studio credit
Course number: IPD-3603-A

Faculty: Armando Fumagalli, Mara Perbellini

Week 1

Saturday, May 24
Depart New York

Sunday, May 25
Arrival in Rome

Monday, May 26
(9:30 -1:30) Lecture on theme w/ screenings of clips.
(2:30 -4:00) Students form groups, begin writing their group scene with faculty.
Evening: Welcome Dinner, meeting with faculty.

Tuesday, May 27
(9:30-1:30) Lecture on arch plot with screening of “La vita è Bella” by R. Benigni.
(2:30-4:00) Students write group scene with faculty

Wednesday, May 28
(9:30-1:30) Lecture on miniplot with screenings of “Roma Città Aperta” by R. Rossellini.
(2:30-4:00) Students write group scene with faculty

Thursday, May 29
(9:30-1:30) Lecture on antiplot with screenings of “8 ½” by F. Fellini.
(2:30-4:00) Students write group scene with faculty

Friday, May 30
(9:30-1:30) Lecture on character with screenings of clips.
(2:30-4:30) Discussion and critique of the scripts’ first draft.

Saturday, May 31
Free Day

Sunday, June 1
Free Day

Week 2

Monday, June 2
(9:30-1:30) Visit Roman Colosseum and other historical sites.

Tuesday, June 3
(9.30-1:30) Visualization: from words to images
(2:30-4:00) Students revise their work

Wednesday, June 4
(9:30-1:30) Guest Director rehearses scenes with students & actors
(2:30-4:00) Guest Director rehearses scenes with students & actors

Thursday, June 5
(9:30-1:30) Guest Director rehearses scenes with students & actors
(2:30-4:00) Revision of scripts according to what students have learned in rehearsing

Friday, June 6
(10:00-1:30) Visit Italian production set for cinema or tv series.
(2:30-4:00) Critique of groups work by Faculty
Evening: Farewell Dinner

Saturday, June 7
Depart Italy
Return to New York