Private: Action Surf Photography:
Destination Bali
/ Schedule

June 9 – 20
2 studio credits
Course number: IPD-3289-A
Accepting applications until filled.
Apply now. Limited seats available.

FACULTY: ART BREWER

Monday, June 9
Student arrival, Check-in, Orientation and Welcome Reception

Tuesday, June 10
Temple Visit, Pura Luhur Uluwatu
Pura Luhur Uluwatu is a Balinese sea temple. Built in the 11th century, it is one of nine directional temples meant to protect Bali from evil spirits.

Wednesday, June 11
Introduction to Equipment and Safety:

  • Review camera equipment.
  • Review local surf conditions, traditions.
  • Discuss technical workflow and image management.
  • Test gear and shoot at Bingin Beach.

Thursday, June 12
Day Trip to Ubud

  • Attend Barong and Kris dance at 9:30am at Stage Chandra Budaya.
  • Explore the art and culture of Ubud; villages, markets and rice fields.
  • Have an amazing lunch with a view of the volcano.

Friday, June 13
Day Trip to Surf Destination (TBD)

Saturday, June 14
Day Trip to Kuta Beach

  • Whitewater Rafting and lunch
  • Sunset and Evening in Kuta

Sunday, June 15
Day Trip to Surf Destination (TBD) 

Monday, June 16
Temple Visit, Gunung Kawi

Gunung Kawi is a temple complex centered around royal tombs carved into stone cliffs in the 11th century. It is located amid scenic rice terraces about 30 minutes from Ubud.

Tuesday, June 17
Day Trip to Surf Destination (TBD)

Monkey Forest – In this unusual place of worship, mischievous simians throng among sacred temples and lush greenery.

Wednesday, June 18
Free Day

Evening Entertainment:
Devdan Show – “Devdan – Treasure of the Archipelago” is a spectacular modern & contemporary acrobatic and dance performance inspired by the culture of Indonesia. The 90-minute show will take you on a wondrous journey, starting in Bali and going on to Sumatra, Java, Borneo and Papua. This high-energy show is performed on a purpose built stage that is full of special effects including world-class lighting & sound, fire effects, superb aerial acrobatics, different types of smoke and fog and at one point it even rains inside the theatre.

Thursday, June 19
Work on Final Presentation
Farewell Reception

Friday, June 20
Students Depart